Why It’s SO Important to Love Yourself

Hey FemStop fam! I feel the need to vent and I’m going to do it here because I feel that a lot of girls out there may feel the same way. So here goes.

I think it’s safe to say that everyone has insecurities and I’m the first to admit that there are so many things about myself that I wish I could change. Some of those things would be maybe having straighter hair, being a little less chubby by my standards, being taller, and more. I feel as though recently these things are continuing to pile up in my head and I’m forgetting that there are so many things about myself that I should really love and that my insecurities are often just a result of me nit picking at little things that are insignificant.

If this sounds anything like you, then I think we all need to take a step back together and realize that it is more important than ever, especially if you’re like me who is a 20 year old young woman, to really love yourself. It’s ok to have things about yourself that you’re not particularly happy with, whether it be physically or mentally, but it’s even more important to recognize that you are not your flaws. If there is something about yourself that you’re not happy with, go out and make a change! Nothing in your life is set in stone and there are ways to try to make positive changes in your life. If change doesn’t seem to be possible, which sometimes it’s not and that’s okay, then being able to accept yourself for who you are and be proud of the person you have become is the next step. Self acceptance is hard especially in a society that has become obsessed with a sole idea and perception of perfection, but what popular culture puts out there is not the standard by which you need to live.

All in all, I’ve been struggling with this myself and when I feel like I’m falling into a negative state of mind, I try to take a step back and realize I am who I am. Not everyone is going to like me or understand me and that’s okay. As long as I am true myself I can overcome any insecurity that comes my way.

Leave a Reply

