Study Abroad Travel Tips for Young Women

One of my best friends and roommate is going to Guatemala for spring break to do volunteer work with a group from our school. She’s actually a saint and I wish that I was doing something so selfless and amazing but instead I’ll probably be home doing absolutely nothing. Anyway, her going away to another country and seeing all the other people my age post about their spring break plans made me think about my own experience abroad. Last spring I studied abroad in London and definitely learned some life lessons along the way.

Rome, Italy
Rome, Italy

In honor of all of these spring break plans, I think it’s so important for people, especially young college girls, to know how to have fun but still be super safe while they travel. It’s important to have fun while you’re away and make the most of your trip, but you also have to stay mindful of your surroundings, always travel with at least one or two other people, and make sure that you have a stable mindset and are self aware.

11138129_10207657063078820_7401984295838536889_n
Paris, France

When I studied in London last spring, it was such a new and exciting experience. I had only been out of the country once before but it had been years ago and for a much shorter period of time. London, of course, was easier to adapt to being that they obviously speak English, but it was still a weird transition. The drinking age was the most exciting part of it because I was 19 at the time and their drinking age is 18.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Being in that new setting with even more freedom than I had at home came with all new responsibilities. I had to make sure I had my friends with me at all times, I was mindful of my drinks if I bought any while we went out, and when we travelled we all stuck together to make sure that no one would get separated. Even though studying abroad is so exciting and getting to go to all new countries and see new places is amazing, I cant stress enough how important it is to be aware of yourself to avoid being vulnerable at any time. So if any of you ladies are planning a trip abroad, remember that it’s awesome to have fun but you HAVE to be safe too!

Barcelona, Spain
Barcelona, Spain
Leave a Reply

