10 Ways to be a BOSS B*TCH in 2017

If any of you are like me, 2016 was NOT your year. Of course there were some really great positive things that happened during the year but for the most part, I would LOVE to keep 2016 very far in the past. WITH THAT SAID, here are my top ten ways to be a boss a** b*tch in 2017. Make it your year, ladies, 2017 is for us!

1.Surround yourself with BOSS, independent BFFs: This is number one for me for a lot of reasons. I was lucky enough to be blessed with an amazing group of friends in high school all of whom I am closer than ever with today. I also got lucky with some badass college friends too. Basically, I’ve surrounded myself with the coolest women I could have ever found in this world and I swear that’s what makes me even more confident every day. Find friends who build you up, call you out on your sh*t when it’s necessary, offer a shoulder to cry on when that guy you thought you liked is being a d*ck, and a sidekick for when you need to show the world who runs shit. To sum this important number one up- your girls are your everything, so choose wisely.

2. Focus on YOU: If there is anything that I have learned in the past few years it’s that no one looks out for you the way you do. Of course you have your besties, your family, and/or whatever other support system that’s in your life, but when it comes down to it, you’re the one who’s going to pull yourself up and make yourself stronger.

3.Stop napping for 3 or more hours a day, you’re WASTING IT!: This one is so real for me because I, like many college students, have fallen victim to my bed and would take a 4 hour nap just because I could. I had to put a stop to that habit ASAP when I was constantly tired, wasn’t eating properly, I couldn’t fall asleep at night, and my homework was barely getting done. When you think you need that long, mid-afternoon nap, think about all the other things you can do to be productive. Go to the gym, read a good book, listen to your favorite podcast, have lunch with a friend you haven’t seen in a while, catch up on homework that’s due at the end of the week. There are even more things to do than you realize and you’ll feel more alert and all around more energized if you skip the routine nap.

4.Get your eyebrows threaded regularly: Ok this one sounds weird but let’s be honest, nothing makes you feel more confident than FLEEKY ASS EYEBROWS. Whenever I get my eyebrows threaded I feel like I can conquer the world, anything is possible, and I can do whatever I want. It’s an empowering feeling I think all my ladies out there need to experience in their lives.

5.Get your minimum 30 minutes of exercise in: I don’t care how you do it. Go to the gym, go for a run outside, sign up for yoga or zumba, ANYTHING, just do it. Working out can be intimidating at first, trust me, before I became a 5 days a week gym freak, I was afraid of the gym and posted up on my couch all the time instead. But now that I’ve gotten into this habit I feel more energized and fit, which ultimately made me a million times more confident in myself.

6.TREAT YO SELF: As Donna and Tom from one of my favorite shows Parks and Recreation would say, “TREAT YO SELF”. Did you have a great week at school or work? Did you beat your mile time? (Like I did today – go me!) Did you ace your exams? Whatever the case may be, it is always important to reward yourself for the positive things that you have accomplished. Buy that cute shirt you’ve been eyeballing on the Urban Outfitters website or take yourself out for a sushi dinner. Anything that makes you happy that you don’t normally splurge on is a great way to TREAT YO SELF.

7.On that note….Also learn to save, save, save: If there is one thing I’ve learned since coming to college it’s that mommy and daddy aren’t going to be there forever and getting drunk every weekend is EXPENSIVE (we all know that feeling when you go to the bar expecting to only buy one drink MAX and next thing you know you’re two rounds deep in tequila shots for you and all your friends…yikes). Open up a savings account and put a percentage of your paycheck (or allowance) there so that you can have money for emergencies (or that spring break trip to Cancun you’ve been dying to go on). Another helpful tip would be to leave your debit and credit cards at home when you go out and only take $10-$20 so that you are forced to only spend a certain amount on drinks (and let’s face it, your ability to flirt your way to free drinks will become expert when you limit your own spending).

8.Read a good book/Listen to a podcast: We all love finding a new show to binge watch on Netflix (I just started It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia and I’m OBSESSED) but it’s also important to further your mind in other ways through different media. When’s the last time you read a book? Have you ever listened to a podcast? Iphones come with a podcast app and an ebooks app that makes it so easy to listen to free podcasts and buy or rent books right at your fingertips. Being able to expose yourself to new media will keep your mind fresh and also help you relate to more pop culture depending on what you read or listen to.

9.DON’T SWEAT THOSE DUMB BOYS: I know that I am not the only one who has been caught under the spell of a college “f*ckboy” and when I look back on how naïve I was I wish I could take it back. BUT FEAR NOT FEMSTOP FAM I have grown since then and I have realized that there is NO POINT in sweating over these guys. College boys, most of the time, are looking for one thing and no matter how many times they tell you they’re not, they are most definitely lying to get what they really want out of you. As much as it feels like everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, has a boyfriend right now, don’t force it on yourself. The right person will come along sooner than you realize if you begin to focus on doing you rather than finding a sub-par boyfriend who chooses his frat brothers over you. Be picky and know your worth because the minute you settle for a guy you know isn’t going to challenge you or appreciate you, you’re going to end up with a messy break up and that’s a fact.

10.Be best friends with your mom: We all go through that phase where everything your mom does is just irritating and you OBVIOUSLY know more than she does. I am here to tell you, as a girl who has gone through that phase not too long ago, you know absolutely nothing and your mom knows everything. I have realized since going away to college that my mom is always going to be there for me no matter what. She’s my rock, my best friend, and is always there to pick up my call when I need her or hug me when I need to cry. Be best friends with your mom, ladies, and if you have sisters they’re included too, because there’s nothing better than having female role models in your life. I got so lucky to have my mom AND my older sister to help guide me and support me through life and you should too! So get over the “I’m too cool for my mom” phase and hop on the BFF train with your mom, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

